Committee of the Regions


344 locally elected members from all 27 EU countries, representing local and regional authorities. Organized in 6 commissions. President: Ramon Luis Valcarcel Siso, 2012-2014, Spain.


Pre-legislative adviser to the European Commission, European Parliament and the Council of the European Union through “opinions,” “reports” and “resolutions” on policies such as employment, education, economic and social cohesion, social policies, environment, energy, transportation civil protection and services. Can approach the Court of Justice to protect its powers or “annul EU legislation that infringes on subsidiarity by not respecting regional and local competences.”


5-6 sessions a year.


Delors Building, Brussels; see below.


Delors Building
Delors Building
R. L. V. Siso, President © EU 2013
Regional Policy Budgeting Panel © EU 2013
EU Institutions European Council European Parliament Council of the EU European Commission Court of Justice European Central Bank European Court of Auditors Economic & Social Commitee Committee of the Regions
Copyright © GSJ & Author(s)