Council of the EU


28 ministers for the particular topic of discussion, one from each member state. If the law discussed deals with transportation for example, all 28 EU transportation ministers meet. Member states hold the presidency of the Council of Ministers for six months. Italy is presiding from July to December 2014, in January 2015, presidency will be assumed by Latvia and in July 2015, by Luxembourg. The scheme is known as the “presidency trio.”


Consultative assembly with law-voting power. Limited legislative initiative power. Budgetary power of the Union. Some control over foreign policy and macroeconomic coordination.


About a hundred meetings per year, depending on the needs.


Justus Lipsius and Lex buildings  in Brussels; see below.


Lex Building © EU 2013
Justus Lipsius Building Atrium © EU 2013
Agriculture & Fisheries Council © Council of the EU
Irish Presidency of the Council of the EU © EU 2013
EU Institutions European Council European Parliament Council of the EU European Commission Court of Justice European Central Bank European Court of Auditors Economic & Social Commitee Committee of the Regions
Copyright © GSJ & Author(s)