Court of Justice


Encompassing three subcourts: Court of Justice, consisting of 27 judges, one from each member state. General Court, consisting of 27 judges, one from each member state plus a registrar, currently presided by Marc Jaeger, Luxembourg (2007-2013). Civil Service Tribunal, consisting of seven judges, currently presided by Sean Van Raepenbusch, Belgium (2011-2014). President: Vassilios Skouris, 1999-2015, Greece.


Ensures that “the law is observed in the interpretation and application of the Treaties.” Reviews legality of acts of EU institutions. Ensures Member States comply with treaty obligations. Interprets EU law at the request of national courts and tribunals.




The Palais of the Court of Justice, Luxembourg; see below.


Concours with Towers & Ring © EU Curia
Chamber Hearing © EU Curia
Vassilios Skouris, President © EU 2013
Main Courtroom © EU Curia
EU Institutions European Council European Parliament Council of the EU European Commission Court of Justice European Central Bank European Court of Auditors Economic & Social Commitee Committee of the Regions
Copyright © GSJ & Author(s)