European Commission


27 Commissioners delegated by each Member State. Each commissioner is responsible for one portfolio. President: Jose Manuel Durao Baroso, 2004-2014, Portugal.


Proposes legislation and sends it to the European Parliament and the Council of the European Union and implements decisions. Represents the European Union outside Europe and negotiates trade agreements. Implements the budget. Sets objectives and priorities for action. The 33 Departments (Directorates-General, or DGs) and 11 Services oversee day-to-day operations of the EU in specific areas, for example creating statistics or fighting fraud.


Commissioners meet once a week.


Berlaymont Building in Brussels; see below.


Berlaymont Building @ EU 2013
Barroso II Commission © EU 2013
Jose Manuel Barroso, President © EU 2013
Barroso at the CERN Hadron Collider © EU 2013
EU Institutions European Council European Parliament Council of the EU European Commission Court of Justice European Central Bank European Court of Auditors Economic & Social Commitee Committee of the Regions
Copyright © GSJ & Author(s)