European Parliament


754 Members of Parliament (MEPs) in 2013. MEPs are directly elected in each member country for a term of five years (reelection is possible). Seats are allocated in relation to population size. For example, Germany with over 80 million people gets 99 seats, that is, one seat per 832,606 people, whereas Cyprus gets 6 seats, that is, one seat per 127,667 inhabitants. Organized in seven parliamentary groups, such as the European People’s Party (EPP), Socialists & Democrats (S&D) and Greens. President (with non-voting power): Martin Schulz (second term) 2014-2017, Social Democratic Party of Germany.


Together with the Council of the European Union, adopts, amends or rejects legislation proposals received from the European Commission. Simple majority passing vote is required for legislation proposals to pass. Non-binding vote on new EU treaties, without veto power. It can ask the European Commission to draft legislation, however MEPs and the speaker are seeking to gain the power to initiate legislation.


12 sessions a year, lasting about four days each.


Louise Weiss building in Strassbourg, France; see below.


L. Weiss Building © EU 2013 and Architecture Studio
Plenary Session 2012 © EU 2013
Martin Schulz, EP President © EU 2013
EU Parliament Groups © EuroPoint 2013
EU Institutions European Council European Parliament Council of the EU European Commission Court of Justice European Central Bank European Court of Auditors Economic & Social Commitee Committee of the Regions
Copyright © GSJ & Author(s)